1 Year Anniversary

Wow it has been a long time since I’ve blogged. My apologies for disappearing for a couple months, I’ve been busy and haven’t kept up with blogging as well as I should have.

It’s been 1 year since I first arrived in Nairobi. Coincidentally this is my 52nd blog post 🙂 I’m trying to look back on my hopes, expectations and ideas about this place and compare them to where I am today. Some expectations have been met, some have been completely different, some things have been frustrating, but overall it’s been an experience of a lifetime. Since I arrived, I’ve held 2 different jobs, been unemployed and started or helped start 2 different companies. I’ve traveled to 3 other countries in East Africa (Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania) not to mention all over Kenya, learned some Swahili, and met many great people who are doing innovative and exciting work. I’m looking forward to at least 1 more year here as I work to bring clean technology products to impoverished households. I’m not sure I will ever call this place home, but I can definitely look back on my experience with fond memories and would like to stay connected.

Over the last 2 months that I haven’t been blogging, much of my time was spent traveling around Kenya with my new job at Affirm Kenya. We had 3 trainers come in from the US to help our salespeople with things like budgeting, writing a business plan, ethical business practices, etc. It was great to receive the training myself (4 times) and interact with people who are selling our products. It was also fun taking a road-trip across the entire country and getting to drive most of the way. The roads were bad but the company was good and that’s the most important thing.

After concluding our training sessions, I spent about a week recovering in Nairobi and headed back out of the big city, this time to Northern Kenya. I worked on the chili farm for about a week and just returned last week. It’s always great to leave Nairobi and see how the real Kenya lives. It was a chance to slow down, spend time outside without traffic and relax. That’s all for now, I promise to blog again more frequently than this!

Image

My co-workers and I receiving our certificates at the end of the trainings

2 thoughts on “1 Year Anniversary

Leave a Reply

