Cabo

Last week I traveled to Los Cabos, Mexico with my family and extended family for some fun in the sun. It was a great time to hang out, catch up, have some fun and eat good Mexican food before I head off to Japan.

There were a lot of stories from the trip but I wanted to highlight the most memorable. One night my grandparents booked a sunset cruise, thinking we would have a nice dinner and conversation. Instead, it turned out to be a sunset booze cruise, complete with blaring music and tipsy gringos. “Waiters” walked around pouring shots of tequila into peoples’ mouths and things were getting pretty crazy on the dance floor. It was definitely unexpected but fun too 🙂

Image

The booze cruise!

The next day, six of us got up early for a fishing trip. We were fishing for whatever we could find, and within an hour of going out, my brother and I had each caught a decent size Dorado (Mahi Mahi). Continuing along the coast, we saw humpback whales jumping out of the water. They would land on their back, wave their flippers, and slowly flip their tail in the air. Later, we saw a school of about a hundred stingrays. Some of them would jump out of the water, flap their wings for a second, and belly flop with a smack. After catching a couple more Dorado and missing some more, we caught up with a school of dolphins that played around our boat on the way home. Getting into the bay again, seals that learned to beg food from the fishermen came up to our boat and were rewarded with out scraps. Pelicans did the same when the fishermen prepared our fish for us. All in all, it was a great fishing/aquarium adventure, probably the best I’ve been on.

Image

My Dorado

Image

A seal snagging some bait fish

Image

Pelicans waiting for a meal

After this, I’m heading to Japan! I’m going to a ski resort for a couple of months to help with translation and work on my tour guiding business. It’s been over 3 years since I’ve been back and I’m really excited to return “home”. I’ve actually reconnected with all of my friends from my Japanese elementary school so the plan is to meet up and catch up, a lifetime away from when the last time I saw them at just 12 years old.

Leave a Reply

