Kenya Banking Crisis

I have no news about the state of Kenya’s banks. Only a personal crisis last week trying to get a bank account registered. Returning to Kenya makes me realize that this project is going to take the entire 9 weeks I am here (and maybe more) because nothing moves quickly…

My only goal last week was to set up a bank account so we could transfer money for our project. I went to the bank the day after I arrived and they told me I needed an introduction letter from an existing customer. No problem. I trudge back 2 miles the next day through mud and pouring rain (the buses fill up when it’s raining), and present my introduction letter, only to find that I need my visa receipt and I must open the account at the same branch as the existing customer. Incredibly frustrated that they did not divulge this information sooner, I go to the other branch the next day, only to find that I’m missing an official application form, which the existing customer must sign and stamp. After giving it a rest on Sunday and getting all of my documents together, I wait in line a mere 3 hours on Monday and finally open the account. Overly ambitious, I go for the home run.

“I want to apply for online banking while I’m here”

“Oh, that will take another 2 weeks sir” 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Kenya Banking Crisis

  1. DANIEL … thanks for sharing the reality of the effort … you are in our prayers! Blessings to you this day!

  2. Wow you’re amazing and your efforts are going to such a good cause! I wish you the best of luck! Always so much red tape to go through when in a new country… hope everything works out with the bank!

  3. Thank you for liking “Fluffy Bunny Overload.” I can understand your frustration after going through all of that effort just to open a bank account. Good luck with your project. I think it is great that you are trying to help people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

