Moving to Japan

First, let me apologize for not updating my blog in so long. It has been a fun, crazy, roller-coaster ride two months since I last posted. It wasn’t just the craziness, however, that prevented me from blogging. Sometimes the amount of reflection and work that writing takes is intimidating. I felt like I needed to step away for a while, get some new ideas, refresh and reflect on why I write.

Today I embark on a new chapter of my life. I am moving to Japan. Now this might not sound very earth-shattering coming from me… Except that  this time it’s official. I have a work permit. I am buying a car and renting an apartment. Grownup stuff. It’s exciting and nerve-wracking, I am thankful for this opportunity and hopeful I will make the most of them.

Before I tell you about what I will be doing in Japan, let me tell you about the last two months. October was the busiest month of my life. Between my two Walk Japan tours, we pulled off the first ever pickleball tour of Japan. We took 13 people, introduced Japanese people to pickleball and saw more than most Americans ever will. October, 2016 is your next chance.

In November, I returned to the US to play in the 7th annual USAPA national pickleball tournament held in Casa Grande, Arizona. I was happy with my results, getting a silver medal in the men’s open singles, and gold medals in the 19+ singles and the open men’s doubles categories. The other matches aren’t on YouTube yet, but check out the open singles final here.

12208650_10153748487298637_3023764208440447490_n

After nationals, my  aunt, uncle and cousin went to Belize! We visited our friends who live on Ambergris Caye, dove, sat on the beach, drove the boat to Leonardo di Caprio’s private island, played cards and ate too much food. What’s not to like?

12107734_10153773154188637_8704637601063075466_n

After this, I actually don’t know what I’m doing when I first get back to Japan. I’ve got to do the grownup stuff in December, plus my brother and his wife are coming to visit. After that, I don’t really know. I could be a ski instructor for the winter. I might work at a ski resort. I might try to become a wedding pastor. In February though, my winter walking tours start as I take people on snowshoeing excursions in Nagano, Japan. I am so excited for where this journey will take me.

This brings me to my final point. I am starting my own travel business in Japan, called TravelNagano. The website is far from complete, but please check it out when you get a chance, www.travelnagano.com and contact me if you or anyone you know is coming to Japan. There is information there on our next pickleball tour, and soon there will be more information on a ski tour in February, 2017.

That’s all for now, thanks for reading.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Moving to Japan

  1. Wedding minister in Nagano? Eh- been there, done that. 🙂
    Excited for you Daniel- glad you made a decision and are going after it. I think you should look into rice farming to round yourself out a bit!

  2. Thanks for the update. I’ve enjoyed following you on your travels thru your blog. I got a chance to meet you when you came thru Pismo Beach. I was not surprised to find you on the pickleball.com video from the Nationals in Arizona. You were awesome. Best wishes to you on your next grown up adventure.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful adventure combining everything you love and are good at. I had two careers before becoming a stay-at-home mom: mechanical engineering and then teaching junior high and high school math and science. It sounds like you have chosen a great path for your life. I didn’t become a Christian till the age of 27 so that is another great passion of mine. I look forward to hearing more about your adventures and visiting Japan someday when my kiddies are a bit older.

  4. Always love to hear the latest and see how God has led since Senior Sem now too long ago (a whole new batch of your kind just concluded with dinner at Jon’s this week!). Every blessing–keep blogging … your global outlook is refreshing! Love to you, Dan! – Peg

Leave a Reply

